Talk to your doctor about a drug before you fill it

Many people stop taking drugs because they cost too much, didn’t seem to work or had ugly side effects. If you stop taking a drug, your health problem may get worse and wind up costing you more later. You can save yourself from going down this path by asking your doctor a few easy questions:

About your coverage

  • Is the drug covered?
  • Why do I need this drug?
  • Will a generic work for me?
  • Do I need to try a generic or other drug first?
  • Is there an over-the-counter option?

About the drug

  • Are there any side effects?
  • How often should I take the drug?
  • For how long will I be taking the drug?
  • Must I avoid certain foods, drinks or other things while I’m taking the drug?
  • What should I do if I forget to take a dose?
  • How will the drug interact with other drugs I’m already taking?
  • Do I need to wait for approval?

 

Talking to your doctor about the drugs he or she orders is important. You’ll feel more comfortable taking a drug that best treats your health problem and have fewer surprises at the pharmacy.

 

Find out about Blue Cross covered drugs here

Find out about Humana covered drugs here

Leave a Reply

